Levitating

This is the future, this is what was predicted from the past. In the past they imagined that everything could float in the future, that even people would be able to fly. You know that we can do that, for example with indoor skydiving. Now they found out how we could keep products in the sky without doing anything.

What it is

The first product that was on the market was the levitating lamp. I spotted it at the a big living event in Amsterdam, last October. Nobody was watching the lamp and everybody walked by, but I stopped walking. I saw this lamp and it really kept me attracted. I talked to the designers and they told me something about the techniques.

How it works: What makes this lamp floating is the integrated levitation technology. It consist out of electromagnetic components and a sophisticated control system. Next to the fact that they employ the very latest LED technology, the lamp is low in power consumption too. With a touch of your fingertip, the lamp can be dimmed to the intensity you require. (Via Light Light)

Why it’s Cool

The designers told me how it worked, but I only could think about the possibilities with the levitating thing. If a lamp could float, how Cool would it be if you can present other products levitating. This was what I saw at the Dutch Design Week. There were more designs practised with the levitating technique, for example a flying shoe, or necklace. Watch this video and I know you will agree with me how Cool this is.

Leave a Reply

